The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

image

Summary From Goodreads:

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

My Review: 

Okay, so you know when a book makes you feel warm and bubbly and happy inside?? Mhmm, you know that feeling??

THIS IS THAT BOOK!!!

Morgan Matson has truly outdone herself with this one. I have read “Since You’ve Been Gone” a while back but I felt that it was moving way too slow, but I nonetheless enjoyed that one. So needless to say, I was quite skeptical going into this one. But boy, oh boy was I wrong. From the very first page I was hooked and I could. not. put. this. down. I have come across some reviews that said that the fist 100 pages were paced slowly or nothing really happens. I for one, totally disagree. I immediately fell in love with Andie’s voice and I could not get enough of it!

Okay so, THE SQUAD. Aahaahhh, the beautiful, complete squad. I love each and every one of them! Palmer, Toby (my fave), Bri, Tom, Andie & Clark!! All of them hold a special place within me. Never have I felt so connected to fictional characters in a 520 page contemporary book before. I loved embarking with them on their pool parties, scavenger hunts & diner adventures! And towards the last 100 pages ANGST went from 0 to a 100 level real quick. I found myself sympathising with each character, feeling their emotions, understanding their thought processes and even at times, embody the same struggles they felt. 

 

I cannot even begin to describe my love for this book. When I tell you I was legit yearning to pick this book up the next day, I was LEGIT thinking about it every minute. Not only did I identify with Andie but, surprisingly, with multiple characters of this book. This book focuses a lot on friendships and I think that everybody, in some way will be able to relate to some aspect of it either way. I loved the concept of not planning your entire summer and just taking a leap of faith for a change. Andie, who likes to have everything planned leaves the summer to dictate her life, from dog-walking as a job to falling in love with a boy (which is like a BIG NO-NO for her). I also enjoyed the somewhat broken, dynamic relationship she has with her father- not being there for her and refusing to talk about her deceased mother. It was interesting to see the impact that had on her ability to fall in love and truly trust someone (Clark) for a change.

CLARK!!! aaahhh ! Clark and Andie fit so well together. They are different and similar at the same time. I loved Clark’s determination to get to know Andie and to not give up on them. At first I honestly wasn’t such a huge fan of Clark, it took some time for me to fully wrap my head around him, but once I did, I couldn’t help but keep rooting for both of them. During the last 100 pages my heart was in my throat, praying that everything will be okay again. But, knowing a Morgan Matson book, a lot of aspects are left to complete themselves, long after the book is complete. And sometimes i hate that and sometimes I like it. With this book, it seemed right and fit the theme of the “unexpected”. So say hello to your new favourite contemporary novel!

So please do yourself a favour and pick up this magnificent book! You will feel a sense of identity and belonging in each of these characters and they will stay with you long after it’s finished! I honestly cannot wait for Morgan Matson’s next book. I will definitely, from now on read anything she writes! An unexpected 5/5 summery stars from me!! (Haha, see what I did there?)

If whole galaxies could change, so could I

2 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Leave a comment